In 2015, ride sharing became legal in Nevada. You probably know this service as Uber or Lyft. Since 2015, millions of Nevada residents have used one, or both, of these services. Uber and Lyft drivers are often driving long hours or are driving as a second job. This can, and does, lead to accidents that occur when there is a passenger in their vehicle.
Both Uber and Lyft require their drivers to pass a background check and vehicle inspection. Both Uber and Lyft carry $1 million dollar policies for their drivers. This means that there are multiple sources you can recover compensation for your damages: the personal insurance for the driver; the $1 million dollar liability policy, and; an additional $1 million dollar underinsured/uninsured policy.
If you are injured in an accident involving an Uber/Lyft, immediately log the accident in the app, then call the police and wait for them at the scene. DO NOT LEAVE THE SCENE UNLESS YOU REQUIRE EMERGENCY TREATMENT. When the police arrive, insist that you be named on the Traffic Accident Report. Take photographs of the scene, obtain as much information of anyone else who was involved or witnessed the accident.
If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident involving an Uber/Lyft, contact Morales Injury Law to preserve your rights and receive the maximum compensation for your injuries.