If you have been injured in an accident caused by a driver, your first option for payment of your losses should be the driver’s insurance. However, what will you do if the driver doesn’t have insurance or the insurance isn’t enough to cover your losses? What will you do if the accident is a hit-and-run and you can’t identify the driver?
According to the Insurance Research Council, 10.6% of drivers in Nevada are uninsured. Even for those drivers who have insurance, they may only have the Nevada state minimum of $25,000/$50,000. If you are involved in a catastrophic accident, an accident with multiple passengers or multiple vehicles, the at-fault driver’s insurance may not cover your losses.
If you have purchased uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage, Morales Injury Law can help you pursue a claim with your own insurance company. Nevada law requires insurance companies to make UM/UIM coverage available when you purchase insurance. If you have not declined this coverage in writing, you may be covered an not even know it. Morales Injury Law will carefully examine all potential sources so that you can be made whole. Contact us today to learn more.